Tuesday, January 20, 2009
Tuesday, January 13, 2009
Halo and No Angel

So an Ohio teen attempted to kill both of his parents, successfully killing his mother, because they took his “Halo 3″ X-box video game away. The Prosecutors are saying he hatched the plan for weeks in retaliation. The Defense does not deny that the crazed tike killed his parents but are looking for leniency with an insanity plea.
The father who has since forgiven his son, tells the story that his son came into his parents’ bedroom, told them to close their eyes because he had a “surprise for them” and then shot them both point blank in their heads.
Of course, this will probably bring up the hailstorm that is our society’s propensity to blame such violence on everything but the overwhelming malevolence and psychopathic behavior of some of our teens. Many say the advent of gratuitously violent video games and television and movie fare is the sole blame. I don’t know what I think about this argument. It’s the chicken before/after the egg scenario.
Maybe these mediums do create delusions of grandeur allowing people to think they too could rid their problems with two shots from a gun. The truth is to go through with killing your parents isn’t a question of any of this or even if you love your parents or not but a question of if you can emote at all. The latter is what hinders a psychopath; they have no feelings to really pull from. And, ultimately, this can afflict any age. Some will act on these proclivities from an early age or let them fester until your twisted machinations ripe years later.
A solution? I am not sure I have one. I think an open dialogue is very important. See your kids instead of seeing through them. Psychopathy seems ingrained but maybe one can definitely see early warning signs if they just are more aware. You can only do that if you spend time with your children! The worse thing we can do in this day and age is to sit back and let our children go unanswered or unnoticed.
Us Ones In Between

OK, so I am not always timely or on the pulse. Well, I am but I just now have been able to find a medium to express this great characteristic I embody!
Whatever, I may be a few months late but I have another recommendation that some of you may or may not have heard about. Check out writer Blair Mastbaum’s latest book Us Ones In Between. It is as beautiful as it is harrowing.
Jagged and hurried as the New York City landscape and train system that consume protagonist Kurt’s mind — Mastbaum’s prose and story-telling are undeniably captivating, consuming, heart-wrenching and leaves you on the edge of your seat (no, like, literally).
Kurt is a disillusioned and stumped artist surrounded in a town he is torn between loving and hating — with its upstarts, posers, glitterati and all others he thinks ignore him. After breaking up with his boyfriend, things take a sharp turn for the worse. Obsessive, paranoid, agoraphobic and aimless, Kurt is tampering dangerously with what is real and what isn’t. As things spiral even more out of control, Kurt just may be responsible for the string of subway pushings making the news.
With Mastbaum’s second book under his belt, he is surely becoming the voice of — and the master of detailing the lives of — the outer fringe and the disillusioned youth. His description of New York City and the counterculture Kurt and many like him belong to there is uncanny and spot-on!
Check out Clay’s Way, Mastbaum’s first book! It’s also a great read!
True Blood

If you haven’t seen HBO’s True Blood, maybe Anna Paquin’s Golden Globe win last night will solidify things enough for you to check it out. I have been talking about it with friends and family for way too long now!
This quirky show about the civilization and co-habitation with humans of vampires is not only witty and unabashedly sarcastic but so happens to make very current social, racial, and sexual commentary — although metaphorical in delivery.
Yeah, there is blood — tons of it – and gore but if you look not too far behind that, you see the writers are trying to paint a more cerebral picture for you to ponder. Plus, not to mention the backdrop just happens to be New Orleans!
Anna’s character is a hoot but also check out character Rene Lenier played perfectly by Michael Raymond-James! His Yat dialect is sooooo cute!
Again, this show is a must-watch!
OLDER POST: Drew Barry-NO-MORE!!!

Tell me that wasn’t Drew Barrymore with a tongue ring on last night’s Golden Globe Awards. Now, don’t get me wrong, I am so one for body adornment (I have a couple of them myself) but a tongue piercing that you got recently??? How circa 1996! I mean who does that? What next? A renegade eyebrow piercing?
Not just archaic body modification ideas haunt Drew, but did you check out her attire and behavior? She looked and acted like a bunk Marilyn Monroe with her hair tussled and the dress askew. I hear it is for a movie; let’s hope she is just doing some serious method acting then.
Drew, please tell me you aren’t back on the pipe! Let’s keep the America’s Sweetheart thing going; it suits you better. My friends who have met you say you are an absolute doll to be around — don’t let that fade.
File under don’t do this to yourself before it’s too late!
Shhh

So you guys know how I am the envy of a hoard of teenage girls and some really confused teenage and middle-age boys/men, right? Well, that’s why I am blogging about it so you will know. SHIT!
So, anyways, I happen to work right next to where they shoot some integral scenes for Gossip Girl. I was never into it but YOU KNOW WHO YOU ARE said I would find it rather entertaining so I bought the first season DVD and did find it rather amusing. XoXo. So it’s season 2 and I feel really gay gay gay for still tuning in every week to see what over-indulgent melodramatic tragedies our poor little rich kids could possibly be facing. With their Louis Vuitton clutches in hand, the world could be so brutal!
But back to the fact that it took me a good month to even recognize they were shooting right next door (and the scenes were outside mind you). This shows how much I mind my own business (or more like how often I am stuck in my office like a caged bird. Right, Maya Angelou? You tell ‘em, girl!) I’d been watching the show and didn’t even recognize the landmarks from the neighborhood.
But my cluelessness aside, let’s go to the cast. So I have to start by saying that I am a Starfucker (not that I have ever; well, there was that one time but I think an MTV reality “star” hardly counts). But, yeah, it’s like as long as you are on TV I find you hot. This is why when I saw Sam Champion (did he finally come out publicly yet? I ain’t blind item-ing this ass) in cutoff shorts with fringe, a tank, and roller blades in the Chelsea-Flatiron border I was sooooo confused. I know the “cool” part of me should have been appalled, disgusted, and maybe even belligerent with him (I mean fringe??? Rollerblades??? Chelsea???) but the Starfucker part of me said he’s a weatherman!!! From ABC!!! (I think I need some sort of intervention!!! Seriously!!!)
But, yeah, I keep digressing. The cast… The cast… Gossip Girl… Well, that one that plays Blair? She is actually really really hot in person; very cute. I’d do her!!! The blonde? Not so much. Is that weird? Just seems like she would be cute in person. Not! And Dan, oh Dan, why in the world do they put more makeup on you than the females in the show. On the show, I absolutely fell in love with him. I wanted a Dan for myself. You know? The sweet unsullied wannabe writer (he reminds me of someone I know very well). But he’s just not cute in person at all. Yes, girls, gays and the confused, I saw him pretty close up. He delivered some lines and had to appear as if was walking out of the scene and did so at the expanse only a few feet away from where I and some other onlookers were. Well, we were face to face and this dude is F.U.G.L.Y.! Ugh.
I haven’t gotten to see the rest of the cast but I am sure I will have some interesting stories to tell soon. Well, that’s if my job, YOU KNOW WHO YOU ARE, won’t keep me locked up tight for a century of lonely nights, waiting for someone to release me (Right, Christina Aguilera? You tell ‘em, girl!)
Side bar before I sign off: Some of the extras are actually really hot though I feel really weird finding actors and actresses in schoolboy/girl uniforms cute!
Signing off… XOXO, Gossip Boy!!!
Is it just me? Or is it nippy out?

So this is a response I got from someone who was totally offended by my entry regarding timeliness when it comes to telling someone you are dating that you have an un-descended testicle.
As my little bro would say “seriously?!?!” Answer? Yes! Yes! Yes! Of course, Screennames have been changed to protect the NIPS!
[16:06] TwoHighOneLow: youre kinda harsh on the dude with one nut
[16:06] TwoHighOneLow: or your friend is being a bitch about it
[16:07] francislewis: Yeah, naw, my friend is just a bitch…
[16:07] francislewis: I realized yesterday that I needed a blog to let go of all of the things that float in my head…
[16:08] TwoHighOneLow: i mean i have a third nipple
[16:08] TwoHighOneLow: and sometimes i tell people the first day i meet them
[16:08] TwoHighOneLow: other times i wait years
[16:09] francislewis: Well, I would assume you wouldn’t date someone for years before they would find out!